: 4582 | 108668 | 12353

Go back to the Inbox after deleting a message 
Use this IdeaSpace to post ideas about the Notes Client.

: 24
: 27
: 3
: Notes Client / Mail
: mail, deletion
: Oliver Regelmann4949 19 Mar 2010
:
: / Email
When a mail is opened for reading and the user deletes it via the DEL key or the button, the next message in his Inbox gets opened. This raises some issues:
- he might sent a return receipt he didn't want to (yet)
- confidential information could be displayed in a moment when it shouldn't
 
Instead he should be brought back to the Inbox / the folder from where he opened that mail.



1) Vlad Sh10448 (19 Mar 2010)
"Instead he should be brought back to the ... Folder from where he opened that mail"
Yes.
2) Peter von Stöckel2682 (19 Mar 2010)
"deletes it via the ESC key"? I assume you mean the Del key. I wholeheartedly agree.
3) Oliver Regelmann4949 (19 Mar 2010)
Yes, the DEL key of course.
4) Michael Tassati3928 (19 Mar 2010)
Great! But it should also be possible to work as it is now
5) Bruce Lill6687 (21 Mar 2010)
#4 I would agree, I have a mobile client that takes me back to the view and it sucks. If Return receipts are the issues then create an idea for "ask for confirmation first". I have modified my template to do that.
6) Craig Wiseman21821 (26 Mar 2010)
I have many users who use this behaviour, and find it useful.

(I know because at one point in the early 8.x code stream, it would lock Notes if you delteed more than a few email this way, so I was able to 'discover' the users who do that.)

So I'd have to vote no....


@5 BTW, there is an idea for "ask for confirmation" before sending a RR: { Link }
7) David Hablewitz15242 (26 Mar 2010)
I thought this was already posted long ago. I know I created an SPR for it years ago and also requested it in person at Lotusphere. If I recall, that's the way Notes once worked (or was that ccMail?)

Yes, there are many reasons to NOT open the next message just because the current one is deleted. Yes, advancing to the next message without having to hit enter from the inbox is a minor convenience. Fine.

Make it an option.
Vote yes.
8) Christopher Boote6132 (22 Feb 2013)
Outlook (spit) has an option for users to decide what to do after a reply and after a delete
Notes should have the same










:
:




Welcome to IdeaJam


You can run IdeaJam™ in your company. It's easy to install, setup and customize. Your employees, partners and customers will immediately see results.

Use IdeaJam to:

  • Collect ideas from employees
  • Solicit feedback and suggestions from employees and customers
  • Run innovation contests and competitions
  • Validate concepts
  • Use the power of "crowd-sourcing" to rank ideas and allow the best ideas to rise to the top

IdeaJam™ works with:

  • IBM Connections
  • IBM Lotus Quickr
  • Blogs and Wikis
  • Websphere Portal
  • Microsoft Sharepoint
  • and other applications.

IdeaJam has an extensive set of widgets and API's that allow you to extend and integrate IdeaJam™ with other applications.

Learn more about IdeaJam >>






IdeaJam developed by

Elguji Software Logo